Florida Moves into Phase 2 of Reopening, But Leaves Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach Counties Out

On June 3, the Governor issued Executive Order 20-139 detailing Phase 2 of Florida’s reopening plan. The plan allows for further reopening of the state beginning on Friday, June 5, for all counties except Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach counties. Under Phase 2, as outlined in Executive Order 20-139, permits the following changes, provided CDC guidelines are followed:

  • Restaurants will now be allowed to serve at the bar at a 50 % capacity. Bars can also begin to operate at a 50% capacity both indoor and outdoor, and patrons can only receive service if seated. Nightclubs remain closed.
  • Entertainment businesses such as movie theatres and bowling alleys can begin to operate again at a 50% indoor capacity.
  • Gyms and retail shops may operate at maximum capacity with responsible social distancing and sanitation protocols.
  • Pari-mutuel facilities may reopen as permitted by local/county officials.
  • Personal services such as tattoo shops, massage and tanning parlors, may resume operation.

The plan also continues to prohibit visitation of long-term care facilities and recommends that individuals avoid gatherings larger than 50 people. For more information on the Governor’s plan, click here.